Prague, Budapest, Vienna, Salzburg, Munich, 2016

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8th, 2015, 02:49 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband & I are planning a trip for a year from now, early-mid Sept. 2016. We would like to include the five cities mentioned in topic title in under two weeks (13 nights total). We will probably get a four country first class eurail pass and use the train to get from city to city. The tours that we have prioritized are the Castle tour from Munich (all day-10 plus hours), The Sound of Music Tour, Mozart dinner concert and Eagle's Nest tours from Salzburg, and possibly Eisenstadt (Esterhazy Palace where Franz Joseph Hayden lived and worked, & Fertog-Hansag National Park) from Vienna. Incidentally, I have not found much on the last place, it must not be as popular a destination as many other places but I am interested since I am a musician. We were considering flying into Prague and spending two nights, then train to Budapest, 2 nights, three nights in Vienna, two nights in Salzburg and the final two nights in Munich. This is a rough plan at this point and from what I have read in many of the forums it sounds pretty busy for a couple in their sixties or maybe any age! We have discussed dropping Prague because it seems to be the most out of the way whereas the others cities are a a straight line from point to point and we could fly into Munich and out of Budapest or vice versa if we left out Prague. But everyone loves Prague and we will probably never be in this area of Europe again. In addition, we explored the option of taking the overnight train from Prague to Budapest but we decided we don't want to do that as it sound like we would not get much sleep. Any advice?
Old Aug 8th, 2015, 03:05 PM