Please suggest a quaint Austrian village

Old May 28th, 2002, 06:07 PM
Natasha

Please suggest a quaint Austrian village

Hi, we are planning to visit Austria for about 4 or 5 days during a 5 week trip in the fall. We went to Salsburg last time around. This time we want a scenic little village in the mounains for hiking and relaxing. We are thinking of Hallstat unless anyone has a better suggestion. Thanks.

Old May 28th, 2002, 06:24 PM
Nancy

Definitely go to Hallstatt, it's so picturesque. I remember sitting by the lake with the best potato soup I've ever had. The Cemetary of the Bones was really interesting and we walked around the town. I have always thought it would be a great place to stay if I was a writer! Dreams!!

Old May 28th, 2002, 06:39 PM
Betsy

I agree with Nancy! Hallstat is beautiful, relaxing and quaint. I too enjoyed a wonderful afternoon lakeside, though my lunch consisted mostly of beer!
Reutte is another small town that is at the foot of the Tyrol with easy acess to Neuchwenstein (spelling?)Very different than Hallstat but a beautiful town, though personally I'd pick Hallstat.

Old May 28th, 2002, 06:51 PM
Isabelle

Nearby Salburg is the Lake district as you may know. It is one of the most scenic areas of Europe I think. Some of the lake I liked were Wolfgangsee aond Mondsee. The villages are so cute and the hiking in the mts is great!
have fun.

Old May 28th, 2002, 08:15 PM
Bob Brown

I like Heiligenblut, near the Hohe Tauern National Park and the Grossglockner Hochalpenstrasse.
You want mountain hiking? This is the place!!
You want high Austrian Alps scenery? This the place.
You want a neat little Austrian mountain town? This is the place.

Do I work for the Chamber of Commerce?
No.

Old May 29th, 2002, 05:29 AM
Joyce

a minority view on Hallstat: I stayed there for 2 days in August 2000, and found the town overrun with other tourists. The town is scenic, but much too small to handle the hordes of visitors.