Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

PLEASE HELP critique my itinerary!!!! First time to Europe aaahhh!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2011, 11:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello guys,

My gf and I are backpacking in Europe. This is my first Europe adventure and Im so excited! Anywho, we fly into Paris at 9:40am on June 8th and leave Paris for home on July 4th 11:10am. I have not booked any hostels/hotel or purchased a Eurail pass yet. The only thing I have done is booked my round-trip flight to Paris. I'm a student and would like to experience Europe but also on a budget. So here is my TENTATIVE plan of attack (and open for critique):
Paris (meeting some friends here for 2days) => Amsterdam (3days, fly to) => Dublin (4days, fly to) => Barcelona (3 days, fly to)=> Rome (4days)=> Florence (2days) => Venice (2days) => Paris (1 day, fly to) => Home

I've only budgeted 21 days in total to be in these places, but I will actually be in Europe for 26 days. So I've left out 5 days for transportation & rest in btw trips. Hopefully that's reasonable? Haven't really looked thoroughly into transportation intend on flying from amsterdam-dublin-barcelona-rome. If anyone has a more efficient way of doing this, please lemme know and any other information/advice would be greatly appreciated!! I'm sucha newbie at this and need all the help I can get! Thanks so much in advance!!
Old May 6th, 2011, 11:47 AM

I'm not certain why you'd need a rail pass since half of your travel is flying. Point to point tickets would probably be cheaper.

You will likely be jetlagged on arrival. I would make Paris 4 days, taking one day from Dublin and one from your extra 5 days.

You may want to investigate flying home from Venice. The cost to change your ticket may equal the cost of flying back to Paris. If using a low cost airline, getting to and from inconvenient airports can be costly.

Have a great trip!