COVID-19 Travel Advisory: Stay up to date with the latest on the coronavirus pandemic.   Learn More >

physical map on Germany/Austria hikes?

Old Jun 5th, 2018, 11:56 AM
Original Poster

physical map on Germany/Austria hikes?

I'm looking to walk through parts of Austria in late September (maybe 5-6 hours a day) and I'm wondering how folks navigate on foot these days. Do people still use paper maps? Or is there a good app that won't charge me USA roaming rates?

I know trails and paths are well-marked in Austria, but how do I find a source of information on them? I'm new to this type of travel.

Thanks

Rob
Old Jun 5th, 2018, 12:21 PM

I always use paper maps. Usually I buy them or borrow them from my library. For a first overview the free panoramic maps provided by tourist informations or cable car companies should be fine - and in your case probably totally sufficient for your walks.
Old Jun 5th, 2018, 09:37 PM

We wander about Austria frequently and use a combination of Freytag and Berndt maps and the outdooractive App. (maps can be saved offline).
Old Jun 5th, 2018, 09:42 PM

Or buy a dedicated GPS device and load a GPX track on it
Old Jun 6th, 2018, 02:57 AM

Freytag-Berndt and Kompass are the leading publishers for hiking maps.
In any mountain community with hiking trails you can buy the respective hiking maps at the local TI or souvenir shops.

Trails are indeed well signposted in Austria and Germany, but it's a bit different than hiking in the US (at least IME).
From what I know from the US you will drive to a trailhead parking and have a limited option of 2-5 trails that go somewhere.
The signs will usually give the clear names like Twin Peaks Trail or Scenic Loop Trail.