Pastry Classes in Paris

Old Oct 17th, 2014, 05:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pastry Classes in Paris

I am trying to get an idea about the Pastry Classes in Paris -- specifically the Macaron Classes. Is it worth it? I am a pretty avid baker at home and just have never attempted to get involved with macarons -- but was thinking what better place to try it out??

There are a few companies out there - and I am just wondering if there is a specific one that is more respected/higher rated than others. Or is more technical and geared towards someone who isn't a stranger to the kitchen!

We will be in Paris in January -- so I figured some indoor activities would be a good idea!

Thanks!
Old Oct 17th, 2014, 06:59 AM

I have taken the macaron class with Cooking with Class several years ago. The class was interesting. The measuring has to be exact, the temperature has to exact, piping of the macaron has to be exact, etc. I took the class with two friends who are gourmet cooks and I don't think they have made the macarons yet. What I learned is that I will pay whatever the cost at Laduree for someone else to make these delicious treats.
Old Oct 17th, 2014, 07:10 AM

Although I haven't made macarons, I have made dacquoise and other meringue desserts. I just don't see it as a difficult thing, other than not making them when it is humid.

I'd be annoyed if a class made me feel it was too hard to do yourself, rather than encouraging.

~Liz
Old Oct 17th, 2014, 07:42 AM

The instructor was very encouraging and we all participated in the making of the macarons. I, personally, don't have the patience to measure out x number of grams of this and that on a scale that I am unfamiliar using. Way too much work for me. But for someone who loves cooking and baking this class would be wonderful.
Old Oct 17th, 2014, 07:46 AM

Me too, I stomped my feet when I did not understand theoretical particle physics.
Old Oct 17th, 2014, 06:24 PM