Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Paris to Rome in 6 days, help a first timer please

Apr 8th, 2006, 01:18 PM
Original Poster

My wife and two kids ( girl 11, boy 9 ) will travel with me on our first trip to Europe this July. I have to be in Rome on the 15th of July and we have extened the front end of our trip. We will arrive in Paris on the 9th of July. We would like to set an agenda that allows us to see as much of the contries as possible but doesn't kill us trying. I've read that train travel is the way to go but I have little experience with trains, can you sleep comfortably overnight and wake up in another city to explore? If anyone has ideas for itineraries to slowly stumble down to Rome from Paris would greatly appreciated. thanks in advance!
Apr 8th, 2006, 02:05 PM

sunpop: What is the total length of your trip? How many days in Paris, how many in Rome?
Apr 8th, 2006, 03:11 PM

hi sunpop,

it will be difficult to "slowly" make your way from Paris to Rome. We are doing the same route in 18 days, and it still seems like we're rushing.
Our itinerary (though it seems to be changing constantly), is as follows:
5 nights Paris, 1 night Beaune, 3 nights Nice, 2 nights Florence, 3 nights Montalcino, and 3 nights Rome. I feel like we're rushing, but we are young with teenagers and have lots of energy. Plus florence and rome we've visited before.

If I only hadd 6 days, I would do 3 in Paris, 3 in Rome, flying from one place to the next.
Flying in Europe is often cheapaer than train travel, which can get really expensive for 4 people. This is why we are renting a car, but we have more time than you do.

Too bad you can't to Paris earlier...
Good luck planning!
Dina
Apr 8th, 2006, 03:50 PM

Just realized you have 6 days BEFORE Rome.
Still rushed, but you could do all 6 in Paris.
Or do 3 in Paris, fly to Venice for 3 days, then off to rome.
Your kids would LOVE Venice.