Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What would you do? Spend your whole vacation in Italy, or split time between Rome and Paris?

What would you do? Spend your whole vacation in Italy, or split time between Rome and Paris?

Old Feb 23rd, 2005, 10:06 AM
Original Poster

Hi,
I am fairly new to the Europe boards -- I am usually on the US board, and the threads here on the Europe board are so great, I've learned a lot already

My husband and I are hoping to plan a trip to Europe for April 2006. I have been once to Paris and other parts of France about 10 years ago (as a teenager), and he has been once to Ireland. We will only have 8 nights to spend, and we have narrowed it down to Italy for the whole time, or Rome and Paris.

If we stayed in Italy the full 8 nights, we would do Rome, Florence, and Venice, I think. How far are these cities from one another? Are there any other places you would recommend? It seems like Amalfi Coast is for summertime.

Our other option would be to spend 4 or 5 days in Rome, then take the overnight train to Paris for 3 or 4 days. Please keep in mind, that we do NOT mind being on the go the whole time because we usually take relaxing beach vacations (Hawaii, Florida, etc...) and are looking for something different this time. And we do not mind the idea of the overnight train because we don't feel as though we would be missing out on any sightseeing time the way we would if we were flying in the middle of the day between countries.

Part of me thinks Italy the whole time would be amazing, but the other part of me that was a 16 year old in Paris 10 years ago, is DYING to see Paris again as an adult. Thanks so much!
Old Feb 23rd, 2005, 10:16 AM

I understand that you don't mind being on the go, but consider how very little you will see of Rome, Florence and Venice if you go to all three in 8 days. That would make me slow down.