Paris-staying in the Eiffel Tower area

Old Sep 27th, 2000, 09:49 AM
Alberto

Paris-staying in the Eiffel Tower area

Where exactly in the Eiffel Tower area?
Attention, the Champs de Mars, where the tower is located sort of divides two neighborhoos, one very posh, the other very mixed. So get a clear description of the location of the hotel. Preferably it is better to be nearer the center of the city but then again the Paris Metro (subway) is very good and very easy, so nothing is far. (Taxis are a pain in Paris).

Old Sep 27th, 2000, 12:37 PM
Kristl

Sorry, i should have included this information in my posting. Looks like it's between Avenue Rapp and Avenue Bourdonnais.

Old Sep 27th, 2000, 02:05 PM
Bob Brown

Are you confining yourself exclusively to the triangle formed by Avenue Rapp,
Avenue Bourdonnaise, and Avenue Bosquet?

Old Sep 28th, 2000, 09:17 AM
kristl

Sorry. I'm really new to these postings, and I'm not giving enough information, I guess. I just want to know if anyone has knowledge of this area as to safety. I'm looking at other places to stay, but if this area is safe, as in I could walk from the Metro at 10 p.m. without being scared, I'd like to stay there. If it's not, I'll keep looking.

Old Sep 28th, 2000, 11:02 AM
Bob Brown

The 7th, in the area you describe, is fairly active. 10 PM is not all that late in Paris. If I were staying in that area, I would not hesitate to walk from a Metro station at 10 PM. The 7th as far as I know is one of the better Arrondissements. (But I much prefer Paris buses to the Metro.)
Take a look at this web site for a fairly comprehensive listing of Paris hotels.
http://www.france-hotel-guide.com/75paccue.htm
Of the hotels in the 7th, the Muguet seems to be a favorite among the contributors to this board. I have not stayed there myself, but judging from the comments by many other posters, it must be a good value for the money.