Search

Paris Dining

Search this Thread

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 11:21 AM
AC

Paris Dining

Hi, I'm going to visit Paris in a week. I'm looking forward to all the wonderful French food! Unfortunately, I'm a student without a lot of cash. Can anyone recommend some inexpensive, more casual restaurants to try? Thanks.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 11:28 AM
Grechen

Try this site http://travel.hispeed.com/parisrestaurantsvalue.htm<BR>

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 11:39 AM
StCirq

Every student who goes to Paris should have a meal at Chartier, one of the oldest, most classic Parisian restaurants. It's not haute cuisine, but it's good, and it's cheap, and it's an experience. At 7, rue du Faubourg Montmartre in the 9me arrondissement. You can find out more about it at http://www.fluctuat.net/nuits/restos...s/chartier.htm

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 11:40 AM
AC

Grechen, <BR><BR>Thanks for your help!<BR><BR>

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 12:03 PM
ann

Just off Place St Michel in the 5th are several streets, rue de la harpe, rue st severin, etc - lots of cheap but quite OK restaurants. Go before 7 or 7:30 as most have the cheapest options then. Even after that time plenty still in the 10 euro range.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 12:23 PM
xoxo

Avoid rue de la Huchette. The food isn't French, it's a big tourist rip off and very poor value for money. Le Guide du Routard, a French guide book, will be of help to you. Just note the names and addresses if you don't speak French. Good luck!

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 12:34 PM
YuckYuck

xoxo is SO right! Nobody, not even a poor student, has to stoop to eating on the rue de la Harpe. Total tourist trap - no authentic French food anywhere around, and the restaurants are dirty. You're better off getting a fresh salad or sandwich at a Brioche Doree.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 03:03 PM
Christina