Search

Oxford, what to do?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 5th, 2007, 12:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oxford, what to do?

Hello,
my 20 yrs. old niece shall be staying in Oxford for three weeks, next September. She'll be attending an english language course for foreign students.
What places to visit or idle you may recommend? (must do and must not). Any useful link? Must-Not do?
Thanks.
Old Jun 5th, 2007, 06:15 AM

I was a student in Oxford for 3 weeks as well. In Oxford, the various college gardens and chapels are worth visiting. She should definitely see Addison's Walk and the Deer Park at Magdalen College. Also Christ Church College Chapel, which doubles as Oxford's Anglican cathedral. And just outside Oxford are the lovely Cotswold villages. Blenheim Palace also comes to mind as does Hidcote Manor. Does she like gardens? www.cotswoldsgardens.com/
Old Jun 5th, 2007, 06:27 AM

And of course punting on the Isis and browsing in bookshops are perennial Oxford favorites.
Old Jun 5th, 2007, 06:40 AM
Original Poster

Yes, she is fond of gardens, and we had the Cotswolds in mind; just looking for local things. Thanks for your suggestions.
You mean the ISIS accalerator? You'll have to explain that!
Old Jun 5th, 2007, 06:46 AM

It's sometimes fancifully claimed the Thames, which runs through Oxford, is locally called the Isis.

Some rowers do: full time inhabitants of the city don't and never have. THe Thames at Oxford's not terribly well suited to punting anyway, since motor boats can make it choppy. Its tributary, the Cherwell (whose pronunciation also divides the local population) is far better suited to punting.
Old Jun 5th, 2007, 06:55 AM