Search

need long term apartment in Berlin

Search this Thread

Old Aug 24th, 2008, 07:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
need long term apartment in Berlin

Hello
I am posting here in case anyone has info...
I am a pianist moving to Berlin and look for a ground floor apartment (sound travels down and i will be practicing at home), very much natural light, with a living room and 1 bedroom. Old building, quiet street. Near public transportation. Hopefully with a garden. I dont care about what neighborhood it is in but it must be pretty safe. I can pay 400 euro or a little more if it is really worth it (a month). The most important is the light and the ground floor. I wll be arriving september 11 and will be ready to look at what is available, stating then or in october. Thank you !
Old Aug 24th, 2008, 09:31 AM

You say long-term - but not how long.

If it's really long-term you should be looking for real estate agents - and in local newspapers.

And while I'm not conversant with apartment price sin Berlin - 400 euros a month sounds incredibly cheap for anything decent. Another point - many buildings have rules about musicians practicing on the premises (either banned or limited to certain hours of the day) - which is something you would have to look into.

(Obviuosly don't know the rules in Berlin - but in our NYC building live music is limited to 9 am to 8 pm - and not before noon on Sundays. We have 2 professional musicians in residence.)
Old Aug 24th, 2008, 10:14 AM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi hani,

when we were visiting Belin a couple of years ago, I googled "apartments in Berlin" and found loads, mostly long-term.

However, you might like to rent something on a shorter term basis to start off with while you find the ideal spot.

Good luck,

regards, ann
Old Aug 24th, 2008, 10:33 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts