Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Need Help With Itinerary - Rough 1st Draft

Dec 19th, 2009, 07:00 AM
Original Poster

A friend and I are planning a trip to Jordan and Turkey. I would appreciate feedback on the itinerary below. We can add a few days if advisable.
Thanks, Les

June 6 - fly Amman to Istanbul (Turkish Air, arrive 09:00), then to Neveshir on Turkish Air 11:15 flight
June 6-9, stay near Cappadocia
June 10 - fly from Kayseri to Antalya; Pegasus Air thru Istanbul 08:00 - 09:25, 12:15 - 13:20
June 10 - 16 - Mediterranean Coast - no set schedule, kick back while head north to Selcuk - bus it or rent car
June 17 - 20 - stay Selcuk or nearby - Ephesus, ruins, etc.
June 21 - fly Izmir to Istanbul on Pegasus Air 11:20 - 12:20
June 22 - 24 - Istanbul
June 25 - fly Istanbul to JFK and home
Dec 19th, 2009, 07:07 AM

I am planning my first trip to Turkey also, so I'm no expert, but I am trying to arrange things so I can fly direct. For example, you might fly from Cappadocia to Izmir, then make your way to Antalya and return directly to Istanbul from there. Saves time and money.
Dec 19th, 2009, 07:56 AM
Original Poster

Thanks, Fra_Diavolo, will check it out
Dec 19th, 2009, 09:41 AM
Original Poster

I looked at Turkish Air and there is no direct flight from Kaseri to Izmir
Dec 19th, 2009, 10:06 AM

I think the only airline that flies direct between Kayseri and Izmir is Sun Express with two flights a week. I hope they still do, because Turkish Air via Istanbul is very expensive.
Dec 19th, 2009, 01:26 PM

Depending on your preferences, you can shoeten Cappadocia to three days. Rent car to drive down to Mersin, then to Silifke/Tasucu for the night. Not very well known but very interesting sites in the area. Drive to Anamur, a true delight, with discoveries on the way. stay one night at anamur. Next day to Side, Manavgat, possibly Aspendos, Perge and Antalya for the night.