Moving to France

Search

Moving to France

Search this Thread

Old Oct 17th, 2009, 08:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moving to France

I am a 26 year old American with a wife and 3 year old daughter. I have recently been very interested in moving to France to give my daughter opportunity for a better education and a better life. I am a police officer here in the states and am also a Veteran of the US Army. I have been trying to do my research and have come upon conflicting websites. I have read that France would be a great place for me to move to but I have also read that it would be almost impossible for me to move there. I am hoping to get some information from those of you that have made the move from the US to France. Is a move like this possible for me? What is the likely hood that I will be able to get a job to support my family? Any help or information at all will be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

Jason
Old Oct 17th, 2009, 09:08 AM
P_M

France is a great country and I wouldn't mind spending a few years there myself. But I'm interested to know why you believe your child will have a better life there. The US isn't perfect but every country has it's good and bad points. If you aren't happy with where you live now have you considered another part of the US? Just a thought in case the France move doesn't pan out.

You asked if it's likely you can get a job. How well do you speak French? My cousin is married to a French lady and they tried living in France for a short time. Unfortunately he never found a job other than washing dishes because he doesn't speak good French. He finally got so discouraged they came back to the US.

Good luck with whatever you decide, I hope it all works for the best.
Old Oct 17th, 2009, 09:40 AM

I can understand many reasons for wanting to live in France but "for a better life"? Are your current living conditions sufficiently deplorable such that the only solution is to leave the country?