Search

Luggage

Search this Thread

Old Apr 29th, 2005, 12:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Luggage

I'm new to traveling and my first trip to Europe will be for my honeymoon to Italy for 2 weeks. We are going to three different places so I want to make sure I have the perfect luggage for packing, unpacking and moving around. Does anyone have any suggestions of the essential pieces I need or your "can't live without" piece of luggege. Thanks!
Old Apr 29th, 2005, 12:47 PM

Reminded me of that great line in Steel Magnolias, "Oh, you know I love you more than my luggage."

Hope you get some great responses, I am always up for hearing about this stuff!

Congrats honeymooner, T.
Old Apr 29th, 2005, 12:56 PM

There is no perfect luggage.
What you select is a trade off among many factors including size, weight, strength, and cost.

I buy the cheapest luggage from a reputable department store. The suitcase must look and feel sturdy because even the best gets badly dinged in transit, particularly on trans Atlantic flights.

Empty weight is also a factor. Those rolling cases are fine but the wheel mechanisms and the handle assembly can be very heavy when you have to hoist them up higher than your head, like onto a train luggage rack. Then, even 25 pounds can seem very heavy unless you are a weight lifter.

You need two pieces of luggage for a long trip. One piece is your main luggage that contains most of your clothes. This one for me usually is in the 25 inch to 27 inch range, with wheels and a handle. The second piece is one that is small enough to fit into the overhead bin of an airplane but large enough to carry what I need. I personally have a bag from Samsonite that is softsided,has a shoulder strap, and is flexible enough to be squeezed into place if need be.