London to Clare

Old May 21st, 2006, 08:27 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
London to Clare

I have a group of 10 traveling from the states to attend a wedding in Clare in (Suffolk County?)England. They are flying into London then need transport to Clare?

Any help is appreciated.
Old May 22nd, 2006, 12:46 AM

With a group that size, it would make sense to hire a small bus and go direct, rather than try to cope with changing between different modes of public transport. Is it possible to fly into Stansted (that's much nearer than Heathrow, while Gatwick is 30+ miles even further away)? It looks as though there are no longer flights between Amsterdam and Cambridge, which might otherwise have got you closest.

I'm no expert on group travel or hiring buses, though...
Old May 22nd, 2006, 03:21 AM

Clare is a very small (and very pretty) village in the county of Suffolk. Needless to say it has no train service. I agree with Patrick that a small bus would be by far the best bet, otherwise you would need at least 2 cars. If this isn't feasible then trains to Cambridge or Bury St Edmunds, and then car hire or taxi (expensive) to Clare.
Old May 22nd, 2006, 03:21 AM

Definitely Stansted is the most suitable airport, and the suggestion of hiring a bus (or even taxis) would be suitable.

If you have to fly into another London airport, the nearest train station to Clare is Sudbury, but this is a rather poorly-served local line. It's almost certainly easier to head for Cambridge or Colchester, both on mainline rail routes, and arrange transport from there.

A third option, depending on where you're coming from, is flying to Norwich, train to Stowmarket and on by road from there.
Old May 22nd, 2006, 04:49 AM

KLM does fly into Norwich from Amsterdam (that's what I was thinking of) - it might be worth looking at changing planes in Amsterdam to fly to Stansted or Norwich.
Old May 22nd, 2006, 06:24 AM
Original Poster