London and Beyond: Trip Report

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 31st, 2003, 04:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Wow, I just got back from a 2 week trip to London and England to find registration at Fodors! I like it. Anyway, we had a great time! Hopefully I’ll provide some useful information here, but I’ll also check back to answer questions if anyone has them. <BR><BR>First, I’d like to thank Ben Haines, PatrickW, Janis, and others for continually posting such wonderful information on this board. I didn’t ask questions of my own, but researched all kinds of things for the trip, and their names always popped up in the threads I found most useful.<BR><BR>The players: Me, my boyfriend (BF), and my sister. We are all in our 30s. <BR><BR>The background: My sister is in London for 2 months for work, so we stayed in her 2 bedroom flat on Baker Street in the Marylebone area. I have no first hand knowledge of London hotels, sorry. I did some things on my own or with just my sister, because BF and I agreed ahead of time that we didn’t have to be together 24/7. This is a great way to travel if you and your traveling companion have different interests – we both had a great time and didn’t feel like we were dragging each other to places we didn’t want to go. <BR><BR>We went to many of the usual tourist spots. I probably won’t list them all because you know what they are. I had a list of things to do by day, broken down by geography or by when things were opened. There were a lot of things of my list, and although we didn’t do everything, we did do a lot of them.<BR><BR>We spent 7 days in London, then spent 4 days outside of London in the middle of the trip (4-day weekend), and then spent the last day and a half in London. We went to Stonehenge, Salisbury, Lacock, Bath, Castle Combe and Avebury over the 4 day weekend.<BR><BR>The flight: I splurged and used FF miles from Delta to buy 2 Upper Class tickets on Virgin Atlantic from Newark to Heathrow. If you h