Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Just Starting to Plan Trip to Italy --Need Help

Apr 25th, 2007, 09:18 AM
Original Poster

Hey all-
Its my first time posting. I have just started to plan for a trip to Italy. Our date's aren't nailed down yet but I'm thinking it may be the week of President's day next year (Feb). I'd be going with my husband. Neither one of us have traveled over seas before and we are 28-so that gives you a general idea of who you are dealing with.

I am hoping to fly out on an overnight flight on a Friday night and return on Sunday. That gives us basically 8 days (we may try to add another two days if we can swing it with vacation time).

Our goal is to see Rome, Venice and Florence. I'd also like to take a day of so to visit the Tuscan Conuntry side. From what i've read to date i think we would fly into either Rome or Venice and out of the other. I'm just at a loss as to how to really start putting an itinerary together. Where to start and where to end and how much time to spend in each spot.

I have been dreaming about this vacation for years and want to do everything i can before hand to plan and make sure we make the most of our time and really get to see Italy.

Thanks for you advice!
Apr 25th, 2007, 09:42 AM

Hi Italyorbust,

First of all, what city are you flying from? If out of the US, this will be a short trip!

Assuming you have 8 days including a jet lagged arrival day. I would highly recommend limiting your trip to 2 destinations. Do Rome and Florence with a day in Tuscany. Or, do Rome and Venice.

Don't try to do it all in 8 days, or you will end up seeing nothing the the insides of planes and trains with schleping luggage to and from in between!

Give us an idea of your interests; art, architecture, history, food, wine?

Check out some basic guidebooks to start getting ideas.

Apr 25th, 2007, 09:46 AM

Wecome to Fodors!
Fly into Venice and leave from Rome.