Italian Honeymoon

Sep 6th, 2005, 10:51 AM
Original Poster

Italian Honeymoon

We will be going to Italy for our honeymoon for 10 days in October. It'll be my first time there so I want to see as much as I can in that time without over doing it. I am also a photographer so I will be spending a lot of time behind the camera.

We have our flights booked flying into Venice and out of Rome. Right now the plan is to stay 2 nights in Venice train to Florence stay 3-4 nights there. Maybe rent a car to tour Tuscany. Then on to Rome for the rest of the trip.

My question is, would it be too much or too hectic to try to add a day trip to Amalfi from Rome or does that deserve a night? I realize that it is 3 hours away, but everyone says that I have to see it. Thoughts?

Is there anything else that is a must see? Any really good areas to photograph besides the obvious?

We still have yet to book our rooms and I am having a really hard time narrowing it down on tipadvisor.com. Too many options and a bit overwhelming not knowing the areas. Any advice there would be great as well.

Thanks in advance.
Sep 6th, 2005, 11:16 AM
Caravaggista

Others can probably comment better, since I have not driven from Rome to Bay of Naples/Amalfi (only took train), but it seems far for a daytrip. Definitely is via the train.

Sep 6th, 2005, 11:25 AM
ira

Hi K,

With 10 days in Oct, I think you have a very nice honeymoon with *3* nights in Venice, 3 nights in florence (you could daytrip to Siena), and 3 nights in Rome.

The AC is not at its best in Oct. Save it for another visit.

Have a nice visit.

Sep 6th, 2005, 11:28 AM

It is far for a day trip...we've driven it and it takes a few hours to get down...too much to see for a few hours time there. Definitely choose to stay a night if you do it - maybe around the Sorrento area. Honestly you might want to save Southern Italy for a second trip so you don't exhaust yourself on your honeymoon...then you have a good excuse to come back too!