Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Is there no night train Venice to Nice anymore?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18th, 2009, 02:42 AM
ber
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not an expert at the Trenitalia timetable site- but I can't find a night train listed, Venice to Nice. I know there used to be one, so am I missing something? Looking for our family of 5, next April.
Anyone know ??
Old Oct 18th, 2009, 02:56 AM

I got the following message. That was what I thought. April 2010 is too far and the site is not ready for that. Try later when the timetable got loaded. Don't know when so try from time to time before 12.12.09

> You have selected a date after the end of the timetable period (14.12.08 - 12.12.09).
Old Oct 18th, 2009, 03:48 AM
ber
Original Poster

Thank you Kappa 1. When I tried, it gave me several day trains, but nothing leaving Venice after 11 am...however I will try later in case I am too early. Makes it hard to book accomm if not sure when leaving.
Old Oct 18th, 2009, 04:59 AM
GAC

I checked the current schedules. The best 2-train combination leaves Venice S. Lucia at 8:32 and arrives in Nice at 15:59, with a 15-minute connection at Milano Centrale. There do not appear to be any night trains available currently, not even out of Milano or Genova.
Old Oct 18th, 2009, 10:22 PM

Sadly, the sleeper train from Nice to Rome and Venice was withdrawn last year (2008), after over 100 years of existence.

Unlike other sleeper tran withdrawals, there's no high-speed alternative to this one, just a long (but scenic!) daytime journey. That's Italian rail management for you!
Old Oct 18th, 2009, 11:32 PM

>> Sadly, the sleeper train from Nice to Rome and Venice was withdrawn last year (2008), after over 100 years of existence.

Too bad. I remember taking the Nice to Rome sleeper train back in 2000. It was a long journey and still unforgettable.
Old Oct 19th, 2009, 01:16 AM