Search

Ireland self-drive B&B tour package info/opinions please

Search this Thread

Old Jul 19th, 2006, 05:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ireland self-drive B&B tour package info/opinions please

Hi everyone.

I'm looking into a package for Ireland in March '07. I've found a package through Dooley Vacations that includes airfare from Philadelphia to Shannon, open B&B vouchers (ensuite/Irish breakfast), admissions to two actvities (which is ok, the rest will be self-booked), and car rental. So, all this is for approx. $1060.00 per person. My question is, is this a good deal? I think it is, but I've never used a package before when traveling and this will be the first trip to Ireland. I'm open to ideas, suggestions or opinions. Even if someone can recommend another provider that offers a similar package, that would be appreciated as well.

This is just in the first stages of planning right now, so we're pretty flexible. We want to experience the scenery and hidden spots as well as historical sites. We'll also be there for St. Patrick's Day. Any information on that experience would be greatly appreciated too.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Jenn
Old Jul 19th, 2006, 06:11 PM

Sometimes they are good deals, sometimes not. You didn't say how long it was for -- that is a great deal for two weeks, an OK deal for one week.

Vouchers are debated a lot. I have never had a problem using them, but there is a limit to your choices, and in high season, the choices may be filled. You shouldn't have a problem in March, though.

Realistically, the rental car (if manual) will probably run you $200-400 for a two-week rental. The airfare you could get on your own would be, at best, around $300-$400. B&Bs are typically $30-$40 per night per person.

You figure the math
Old Jul 19th, 2006, 07:20 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts