Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

I'm getting into the idea of dressing nicely in Italy!

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 8th, 2006, 12:04 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've read quite a few "what to wear" threads there, and I admit that I even started one. As I mentally plan mu wardrobe for our upcoming trip to Italy, I admit that I am embracing more and more the idea of actually looking NICE while being a tourist.

For some reason, I have always thought "shorts and t-shirts" for vacation. But I love the idea of my family actually dressing nicely. I am a lawyer and we've been "business casual" for about 6 years now. I spend about 12 hours a day in my "work clothes" (lots of nice slacks and sweater sets) and am perfectly comfortable. I'm sure that - given the right shoes - we can have a perfectly good time in Italy while dressing nicely, too!

Thanks to all of you who continue to tolerate everyone's "what to where" posts!
Old May 8th, 2006, 12:24 PM

Hi missypie, I enjoy dressing nicely in Italy, especially since the city I live in is so casual..to casual a lot of the time.

Do bring comfortable shoes for walking as you no doubt will do a lot of walking while in Italy. Wishing you and your family a wonderful trip!

Old May 8th, 2006, 12:29 PM

I live in jeans, and capris for summer. And - gasp - tennis shoes. That will be the hard part for me, finding decent-looking, comfortable shoes.
Old May 8th, 2006, 12:29 PM

Oops, posted too quickly. LoveItaly, how's your finger?
Old May 8th, 2006, 12:45 PM
Original Poster

Maire, I'm still searching for another pair of comfortable but not terribly ugly shoes for my trip. I have a wide foot, so I really can't find shoes at any store. I believe that I have ordered and returned 11 pair from zappos.com, with another four pair on the way!
Old May 8th, 2006, 01:19 PM