I think I have a plan!?!?!?!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 29th, 2005, 07:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

For those of you who know my story I think I may have a plan. (for those of you who dont here it is: 39 female midlife crisis backpacking alone across Europe in December in about 2 weeks)

Land in Amsterdam spend a day or two hanging then off to Cologne, Munich, Vienna, Salzbur, Geneva, Paris then back to Amsterdam. Or maybe not. I think I may make it a point to visit all the Christmas markets along the way
Being a virgo I made a spread sheet with all the train schedules and stations. I also made a spread sheet with B&B's and Hostels.

Also I was in the market for a backpack so I started bidding on a couple on ebay (I have never done this before). yes that is correct i said a couple, and guess what? I won both so now I own two backpacks. So i hope I enjoy this backpacking stuff. Now I am in need of a very warm parka. Any ideas???
Old Nov 29th, 2005, 07:56 PM

Not sure how much time you have, so I can't tell if your plan is overly ambitious or not.

Have you considered what you want to see? I'm an Aries and made planty of spreadsheets, including one with cities sorted with sights to see, sorted by neighborhood, with details about addresses, hours, details of what to see and costs.

Now, when you get those backpacks, pack them both individually with all the stuff you want to take, bus yourself downtown in your city and walk around for a few hours. Take the one that doesn't chafe at you too much. I always was a fan of suitcases with rollers, no matter how small. My 38-year-old back can't take a pack for that long. "Backpacking" across Europe doesn't have to be a literal thing...you might find that pulling a small carry-on around with you is much more convenient and comfy.

Happy travels,

Jules
Old Nov 29th, 2005, 08:31 PM

Good luck