how is florence laid out?

Old Feb 1st, 2005, 09:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how is florence laid out?

i'm having difficulty putting florence into a context i can understand. it seems to look small on maps.

for example: i never thought rome was as vast as it was. all the map studying didn't prepare me for how big the city was. for how unwalkable it was from one site to another. where as i never realised how small and walkable paris turned out to be.

so how does florence work?
Old Feb 1st, 2005, 09:57 PM

I took the bus twice in Florence, and it wasn't necessary either time. Florence is much more compact than either Paris or Rome.

I am surprised by how you view Paris and Rome differently. For me it would seem unworkable to walk from Montparnasse to Montmartre, but it would be quite possible to walk from Vatican to the Colosseum.
Old Feb 2nd, 2005, 02:59 AM

We also found Rome very walkable for the major sights.
Old Feb 2nd, 2005, 03:54 AM

I studied my maps of Florence quite diligently before we went and was very surprised at how compact the city really is. It was much smaller than it appeared on my maps and we walked everywhere, only taking a cab to Fiesole and Piazzelle Michaelangelo.
Old Feb 2nd, 2005, 04:14 AM

Agreed that Rome is very walkable - unless you're trying to walk in from a hotel in hell and gone. I found it much more convenient than Paris - were we rode the Metro quite a bit. The historic center of Florence is tiny - nothing like either Rome or Paris.
Old Feb 2nd, 2005, 05:07 AM
ira

Hi UC,

The historic area of Florence is very walkable.

We did take the bus to Pzza Michaelangelo and again to Fiesole, but otherwise, walked.

Busroutes and a map of Florence are at http://www.ataf.net/Default_EN.asp

Old Feb 2nd, 2005, 06:03 AM
Original Poster