Search

Honeymoon Help

Search this Thread

Old Jan 15th, 2007, 06:46 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Honeymoon Help

So I'm a newbie to Europe going on my honeymoon. My fiancee & I are in our early 30's & enjoy history, good food & wine, shopping, fashion, clubs/lounges. We live in Miami (so think South Beach), and I am looking for tips for about a 12 day trip to Italy. Looking for advice on "must sees", best time to book, best places to stay, romantic, fun...Also, any advice on who to fly out of Miami & where to fly into. Lots of questions, huh.

Help!
Old Jan 15th, 2007, 07:06 PM

You didn't say *when* you're going to Italy ... but if it's your honeymoon, you might begin on one of the lakes in the north. Fly into Milan and get a driver to take you to Villa d'Este on Lake Como or Villa Aminta on Lake Maggiore. Both would be very beautiful, romantic, and secluded places to get over your jet lag and just enjoy being together. Both are Virtuoso properties and offer daily breakfast and upgrades on arrival, subject to availability if you book through a Virtuoso agent.

Then ... hey, it's your honeymoon ... go to Venice and stay at the Cipriani or the Gritti Palace (since I'm spending your money!).

Spend a few days there, then on to ... Florence, home of the Italian Renaissance. Read "Bruneschelli's Dome" before you go, and be sure to climb to the top of the dome *after* you've read the book. Get reservations in advance to see the Accademia and the Uffizi Gallery.

Finally, on to Rome. Arrange for a guided tour of the Vatican Museum in advance (so that you can avoid the huge lines). Do walking tours of the city using the downloadable tours from Frommer's website ... or get a private guide. Toss three coins in the Trevi Fountain because, after all, it's your honeymoon, and this is supposed to guarantee you'll be back!