Search

Help Me Plan My BackPacking Trip!

Search this Thread

Old Jun 27th, 2006, 12:23 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help Me Plan My BackPacking Trip!

Hi All,

I'm going to be backpacking through Europe for 23 days this fall. It's my first time backpacking and I need some advice. I'm spending the first 4 days in Munich for Oktoberfest, and I'm ending the trip in Berlin. Everything in between is up in the air! So far, here's my plan:
Munich 4 days
Salzburg 2 days
Baden Baden 1 day
Black Forest 1 day
Freiburg 1 day
Bern/Zurich 1 day with overnight train to Paris
Paris 5 days
Brussels 1 day
Brugges 1 day
Cologne 1 day
Berlin 4 days

Is that waaaaay too much running around? I know I'm cramming a lot in, but I really want to make the most out of this trip. Let me know what you think! Should I skip any of these places entirely in order to see more of one of the other desitinations? Am I missing anything in between?
Thanks for any and all advice.
Old Jun 27th, 2006, 12:25 PM

I would recommend 2 nights at each stop but it is your trip.
Old Jun 27th, 2006, 12:32 PM

With all this running around you'll barely have some hours to spend in all those destinations you only want to spend one day in as you always have to count in the travel time and checking in and out and packing and unpacking.
Are you sure you want to spend 4 whole days in Oktoberfest? I'd either skip or take just one destination in the part between Salzburg and Bern or the one between Paris and Berlin. Not that they are not worth visiting, but you should take more time to visit those places !
Old Jun 27th, 2006, 12:45 PM
Original Poster

Yea, I was figuring you guys would say that. I guess you're right. There's no sense in taking the trip and not SEEING ANYTHING.
hmmm...maybe if I take out Baden Baden it'll make a bit more room...I don't really need a spa day anyway!
If you had to choose between Brussels and Brugges, which would you go for?
Old Jun 27th, 2006, 01:02 PM
Original Poster