Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Help! 25 yr. old female travelling alone? Am I safe?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19th, 2005, 05:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I graduated college in December and about to embark on my first time to Europe. Problem is I have tried for years to get friends to go and no one will. (Have dull friends I guess...!)

My question is, will I have fun? Will I be safe? I think I am a pretty smart and adventerous person so I have no problem travelling alone. I just need some reassurance, I think my parents would appreciate it also.
My plan is to fly into London and then go wherever it takes me. I need help from all you experienced travellers!!!

Thanks!
Old Jan 19th, 2005, 06:37 PM

Hmm, next week, my 20yr old son flies to London, and he too is pretty much travelling solo, "going wherever it takes him", for a 4 month period (taking a break from college).

You don't state budget ... my son used these budget oriented sites & forums for more info:
http://www.bugeurope.com/
http://www.eurotrip.com/forum/
http://www.letsgo.com/
http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/
http://travel.roughguides.com/

Even if your budget is higher, you should find useful info on personal safety, travelling alone, etc, all geared toward younger travellers.

Old Jan 19th, 2005, 07:25 PM
BAK

My daughter was 22 when she went to Italy to sing.

She'd never been out of North America, and had not travelled much here, either.

She flew into Nice, found the train and took it to Lucca, found the hotel where she had reservations, (this is an important point for the first night; make at least a one-night reservation so you have a base to starat from)and over the summer took a few short trips by herself, and then after the performances foundher own way to paris by train, spent a few days there, and got home safely.