Greece to Italy transport

May 30th, 2008, 10:41 AM
Original Poster

Greece to Italy transport

Hello, I am about to embark on my second travel abroad experience next week. For the first part of my trip, I will be studying photography at an arts program in Paros, Greece, for three weeks. I'm nervous/excited--I'll be traveling from the U.S. to Athens all on my own and don't know any of the other students in the program! Last summer I studied abroad in Florence but with a group from my university, so I knew the students as well as the professors.

On June 28th, at the end of the Greece program, I will ride the ferry from Paros back to Athens with my group, then on the 29th, take a flight to Italy and get to Florence. I'll begin a 2-week Italian language school in Florence on the 30th. I am trying to book a flight from Athens to Milan (I guess, I'd prefer to fly into Florence and not have the hassle of a train, but those flights are too expensive for my student budget). I've looked on Easyjet and Ryanair, have read up on all of their policies, and have found the cheapest flight to be from Easyjet at 107 Euro. If I were able to fly just one day later, since it'd be a Monday, the cost would be just 78 Euro, but my school starts that day!! I have a very small window of time to get from Greece to Italy.

I am wondering:

-- Does anyone know of a way to get a cheaper flight? I don't care about amenities, I just want to get safely from Athens to Italy, at the lowest cost. Are there any cheaper tickets through discounted sites?

-- Does anyone know the price of a 2nd class student train ticket from Milan to SMN Florence (not flexi, I'd rather have a secured seat to be sure)? I've tried looking it up but haven't located a good source of info. Also, how many hours is the average train from Milan to SMN?

If anyone else has any advice at all for me, please do give it!!!