Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Greece, Italy and Istanbul can it be done?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 8th, 2014, 10:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I am a student who is studying abroad and would like to spend two weeks traveling. I was hoping to leave December 9th (Maybe December 8th if better) and return December 19th.

The plan is to fly from London to either Istanbul, Greece, or Italy. I would like to spend a day in Istanbul to see the wonderful markets, see an island or two in Greece, do some mainland sightseeing in Greece and also Italy. Maybe Croatia? But that could be a long shot.

I am a student so funds are limited but I would like to take advantage of this opportunity while I can.

I appreciate all the help and knowledge!
Old Oct 8th, 2014, 12:32 PM

If funds and time is limited just skip Greece and Istanbul and spend all your time in Italy. Italy for 10 days there is plenty to do even in the winter.
Old Oct 8th, 2014, 12:55 PM

Flying to Turkey for one day in Istanbul does not make sense logistically or financially.

You say two weeks, but actually have only 10 days and that includes travel days.

Getting to and from islands takes a lot of time and money, plus December is not the best time for that.

Winter days will be shorter and perhaps cold.

Pick one country and see things that are close together so you save both money and even more important, do not waste a lot of time traveling that could be spent sight seeing, or pick at most two cities with cheap and easy flight connections. Fly multi-city, into one city and out of another.
Old Oct 8th, 2014, 01:51 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
You may be able to get a good deal on flying into Istanbul, flying to Rome and returning to London from Rome.

Check the low cost Pegasus airlines if THY )full service is expensive)
Try their own web sites rather than any broker web-sites. Check for specials.