Glorious Tuscany!

May 8th, 2019, 09:55 AM
Original Poster

Glorious Tuscany!

My husband and I traveled to Tuscany with my parent at the end of April and into the beginning of May. Although I studied abroad in Rome (many moons ago), I only made it to Florence for a quick day trip and no one else in our group had visited the region either. After eight nights (3 in Florence and 5 in the Val D’Orcia), we are true converts. The people, food, and scenery were all truly wonderful.

Where We Stayed in Florence:

I found this apartment on AirB&B: Maffei Apartment. It is the perfect set-up for two couples as each room has its own bathroom and one of the bedrooms is located on the main floor of the apartment while the other is located upstairs. It was very spacious and well-appointed. It was also located in the perfect location for our travel needs. It was an easy 10 minute walk from the train station (where we arrived) and another easy 10 minute walk to the Avis location from where we picked up our rental car when we left Florence. All of the main sights of Florence were within easy walking distance.

Overall Impressions of Florence:

So much to see and do! If I could reorganize the itinerary, I would have devoted one extra full day to Florence. We had two full days and it was not enough to see the sights I wanted to and build in some of the down time that, in my opinion, is essential to traveling, and especially, to traveling in Italy. What we did: visited the Basilica di Santa Croce using the self-guided tour in Rick Steven’s guidebook which was very helpful; visited the Palazzo Davanzatti; visited the Uffizi using pre-booked Skip the Line tickets; visited the Duomo using pre-booked Skip the Line tickets to climb the dome; and visited the Palazzo Vecchio. Somehow we even managed to find time to enjoy an Aperol Spritz (or two) during aperitivo time.

Some Notes About the Sights: