Florence or Fiesole - Where to stay?

Feb 2nd, 2009, 06:17 PM
Original Poster

Florence or Fiesole - Where to stay?

Hello! My husband and I are planning a 2+ week trip to Italy in September. We are planning on hitting the usual destinations of Rome, Florence, Venice and Cinque Terre.

Florence will be where we spend most of our time. I studied abroad there years ago and I am familiar with the city and the surrounding towns (Sienna, San G., Orvieto, etc.)

My question for the board is whether I should look for accommodations in Firenze or Fiesole... I want my husband to get a little taste of a smaller town atmosphere, but I don't think we will have time to do any day trips to any of the cities I mentioned above. However, perhaps Fiesole has become more touristy than when I was in Florence 8 years ago? Also, we plan on spending much of our time in Florence, and so maybe it doesn't make sense to be taking the bus to and fro everyday.

As you can tell, I am very undecided and can list pros and cons for each option. Any advice from someone who has been there recently would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Feb 2nd, 2009, 06:48 PM

Isn't Fiesole only 20 min. or so by bus.from the center of Florence?
IMO Florence IS a rather small town.
We visited Fiesole for an afternoon, but there was nothing there( except a nice view) that would make me wish to stay longer.
Feb 2nd, 2009, 06:53 PM

I would only stay up in Fiesole if I had a guaranteed open view from my windows, preferably with a balcony, that would be beautiful if I wasn't intending to spend much time down in Florence anyway. Maybe for a writing assignment or something creative like that.

But the thought of commuting on a full bus every day with all the poor souls who are going to work, instead of staying down in Florence and simply walking out the door into that awesome city - I couldn't stand that.

But you already seem to know the pros and cons - you've outlined them, so the decision is totally yours.