Reload this Page >

First time in Greece - Two Mature Ladies Island Hopping Trip

Old Mar 28th, 2012, 05:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello All,

This is my first time posting on this board. Nice to meet you.

I'm going to be traveling to Greece with a girlfriend of mine and we're interested in hopping around all of the amazing Island. We're trying to avoid spending much time in Athens (main land). We know about a few of the island (Mykonos, Santorini..) but we'd love to hear about some others that are smaller, slower paced and less touristy (does this exist in Greece!?)

Would love to hear other people's past experiences or suggestions.

Our dates will be end of July and we're thinking 14 days.

Thanks for your help.

Karen
Old Mar 28th, 2012, 06:39 PM

My husband & I (seniors) really enjoyed Naxos and took the bus tour of the island while there. We also did the day tour to Delos.

Santorini is so beautiful, too, and we stayed in Oia.
Old Mar 28th, 2012, 06:43 PM

You'll get the best information about all the islands from T. Cook's 'Greek Island Hopping'.

Even the smaller, slower-paced islands will be slammed at the end of July.
Old Mar 28th, 2012, 06:46 PM

Assuming you are talking the Cyclades group of islands, I would recommend Amorgos and Folegandros.
Old Mar 28th, 2012, 10:14 PM

Something else to keep in mind: Late-July is when the Meltemi winds can be extremely strong, so try to stick with islands you can reach by conventional car ferry instead of the much smaller highspeed catamarans. This will significantly decrease the possibility of cancellations as well as providing you with the most stable ferry rides. In high winds and choppy seas the highspeed cats bob in the water like corks.
Old Mar 29th, 2012, 12:24 AM