EF Tours--What to Expect?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 30th, 2014, 06:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a high school student enrolled on a trip with EF Tours. We depart next month for two weeks in Central Europe--Germany, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Austria. I have not posted in the Fodor's travel forum before, but I would like to hear some reviews and opinions of this tour company before my departure.

From scanning other online reviews, the experiences seem to range anywhere from unbearable suffering and trauma to an enjoyable, albeit frugal, educational experience. The latter, of course, is what was advertised, and what I signed on for. I am well aware of what group travel entails, and am certainly not expecting decadent luxury by any stretch. However, I would like to have confidence that I'm in for a fulfilling adventure.

This will be my third trip to Europe, but my first with a tour group. Generally speaking, what is the quality of the meals like? Should I expect to have chances to sample the local cuisines? Are the "expert tour guides" (as EF refers to them) competent and knowledgeable? How about intra-European transportation...I gather EF primarily uses coach buses?

I understand these questions are fairly detailed and certainly not many reading them will have traveled with EF. All feedback is appreciated, though--even just general comments about European travel in large tour groups, not necessarily EF-specific.

Thank you!
Old May 30th, 2014, 07:21 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
If you do a search on this forum you will turn up quite a few threads on EF.

>>>Should I expect to have chances to sample the local cuisines?<<<

No, except on your free time. Meals are geared towards students and can often be french fries and hamburgers. Drinks are usually extra.