EBAY Cell Phone Question

Old Mar 31st, 2007, 12:19 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EBAY Cell Phone Question

After reading the cell phone threads I've decided to try and buy an unlocked cell from EBay for my upcoming trip to Spain (and install a Spain sims). In looking at Ebay, lots of phone say "unlocked, triband" but then say "Cingular, AT&T, T-Mobile", etc. Does that indicate that I have to use those networks or not?

Thank for a newby trying to get more tech-savvy!

Ceili
Old Mar 31st, 2007, 12:27 PM

I'm no expert on this, but my understanding is that you would need to purchase a quad-band unlocked phone. I'm not sure that a triband would work in Europe. Perhaps, someone else will correct me if I am incorrect.
Old Mar 31st, 2007, 01:08 PM

You have to be careful with tri band phones being sold on ebay these days.

I'll try to explain.

GSM phones in Europe operate on 2 bands (frequencies) 900 and 1800. Some companies operate on 900, others on 1800, some on both. This is all part of the standardization European GSM carriers (almost all of them then although some new technologies exist but they haven't stamped out GSM just yet and will not do so in the near future). The US was very slow to embrace GSM. For many years, the only national US gsm carrier was T Mobile (although originally it was omnipoint and then became Voicestream before it was bought out and became T Mobile)...it's operating frequency was 1900. Since T Mobile was part of an international company, it pushed international roaming and began offering the public tri band phones which operated on 3 bands, 900, 1800, 1900 and would work on all gsm carriers throughout most of the world (Japan, South Korea among others presented different problems).