Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Driving in Northeast Scotland - Please Help!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 18th, 2006, 06:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all, I'm relatively new to Fodors, so I'm hoping some of you veterans can help me. My wife and I are taking a 20th wedding anniversary trip in June to Scotland/England/Ireland. I probably did my planning in the wrong order, I booked all my hotels, and have only recently been paying attention to driving times from place to place (mainly using www.aaroadwatch.ie as a guide).

I'm in a slight panic now because several of the drives in Northeast Scotland seem terrible now. For instance:
1. We are flying from London to Inverness, arriving Inverness mid day. Then we are driving north to East Mey (near Thurso??). I was thinking 2 hours driving, but aaroadwatch says close to 4 hours.
2. The very next afternoon, we have to drive back from East Mey, past Inverness, ending up in Dunkeld (which is close to Pitlochry I think), where my ancestors are from. I was thinking 3 hours max, but aaroadwatch says close to 6 hours.

Is driving really that slow? I'm afriad our desire to see the North of Scotland got in the way of my better judgement. Sorry to ramble on so much, thank you for any advice you can give us!
Old Apr 18th, 2006, 07:35 PM

I'm afraid the driving times sound about right. It's not unusual for first time travelers to Scotland to assume the driving times are equal to those in the States for similar distances. In fact it is much slower.

You will have considerable daylight at this time of year, but it's still a long drive in both instances.
Old Apr 18th, 2006, 07:49 PM

I answered yor question but didn't offer any advice. I have to ask why East Mey? I'll take a guess and assume it's because of the late Queen Mother's former home at Castle Mey.