Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Drivers license or other documents for ID?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hope this isn't a really dumb question, but for a trip from US to Europe, is there any reason at all to bring a drivers license or copy of one for ID purposes (assuming one is not driving!)? I'd think a passport would be enough, but I'm new at this. I'm used to being asked for a drivers license when I use a credit card here, but I don't know if they would do that overseas. Thanks!
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:17 AM

Leave it home if you do not plan to drive.
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:20 AM

I bring my drivers license with me so I can leave it (instead of a credit card or passport) when I rent audioguides at museums and other sites.
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:21 AM

Be sure you know your pin number for use with your credit card. I never use a pin number in the US, but I couldn't use my credit card for train tickets or cash without it in Europe. It was a big bummer.
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:38 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Orcas: You can use a credit card w/o a PIN to buy train tix - IF you go to a staffed ticket window. You just can't use the automated machines. And one shouldn't use a credit card to get cash anyway . . . .
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:42 AM

Khermann-Chepar's response is right on the mark-I never take my passport with me, because if you lose it, or it gets stolen, you will have mass problems getting another, which would be a monumental hassle that I would not care to deal with, as I have had my purse stolen, but I didn't have to replace my passport, so although very stressful, it did not ruin my trip, as I could get another credit card and cash, and of course, I had my passport picture ID. So I don't carry it, and don't recommend carrying it; the passport goes right in the safety box, if I'm in a hotel, or it stays in the apartment, locked up.