Day/Weekend Trips from London

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19th, 2006, 09:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Anyone have any suggestions for daytrips/weekend trips from London (just within Great Britain; I'm doing the continent on somewhat longer excursions). Thanks!
Old Feb 19th, 2006, 12:07 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
There are several hundred threads on here answering that exact question. So instead of us re-inventing the wheel, tell us something about what sorts of things you want to see/do - and When you will be there.
Old Feb 19th, 2006, 12:22 PM
Original Poster

Sorry, guess I should have been more specific; I just got back from a trip to Portsmouth, and realized how much I would like to see other places outside London. I'm studying abroad in London until late May/early June, so the timeframe is next weekend until then. I suppose I'm primarily a history buff, particularly military history, but anything interesting would be great. Not really at all interested in shopping, nor really in just relaxing places (I can do that back in the states). Also, I don't have access to a car, so places easily accessible by rail or coach are pretty much all I can do. Already have a trip planned to Edinburgh, and am looking at some other places, really just looking for ideas (not trying to start a huge list like some of the other threads that you mentioned; I've been going through them, looking for some ideas, just seeing if anyone had any more input, perhaps in a slightly less overwhelming size than the hundreds of places in those hundreds of threads). Thanks again.
Old Feb 19th, 2006, 12:38 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
That's MUCH better Now we know what you're interested in and needing to use public transport.

One place I'm sure you would love is Dover. The castle is worth a FULL day. Roman, medieval, Tudor, Georgian, Victorian and WWII military bits -- including the fascinating WWII tunnels and hospital.