Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Cinque Terre in April- Don't shoot me for asking...what to wear?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 20th, 2009, 04:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I found a great fare to Milan for my spring break (I'm a teacher) and convinced DH to ignore the doom of the US economy and okay a vacation to Italy with the help of suggestions from Fodorites.

We will spend 5 nights in Portovenere with lots of hiking, of the CT and the rest of the region inland. We plan to hike, stop for big, delicious, wine-filled lunches, then stagger home to sit on our terrace looking out at the sea, eating salumi and drinking prosecco.

Then we will spend 4 nights in Bologna, doing, ahem, more eating and wine-drinking, with possible side trips to Ravenna and Parma or Modena.

You may see a theme emerging...

Anyway, we've been to Bologna once before (loved it and have always wanted to return!) and I am fairly confident about how to pack. I'm not so sanguine about what to pack for the Ligurian leg of our trip. You should know that we are big hikers here in Virginia, and my DH wears cargo shorts and hiking boots every day to work.

Everyone says, NO SHORTS IN ITALY, but is that true for hiking??? Are we meant to hike in linen pants and a blazer? If we are hiking in shorts, can we then go into good restaurants for lunch? (Any lunch recommendations are welcome, btw. I've been reading the forums obsessively and compiling a list, but we are especially interested in hikes inland to out of the way lunch spots.)