Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Black Forest and Andalusia: Even Possible?

May 8th, 2006, 07:39 PM
Original Poster

Hello all!

After a tame semester in the states, the travel bug is itching under my skin again. Luckily, my mother (late-40s), my sister and myself (college students) are planning a trip to Spain and Germany sometime in August (probably the first two weeks).

We are trying to combine a variety of interests.
In Germany: my mom wants to see the Black Forest, the castles, the "typical." My sister wants to go there also, as she has previously been to Germany to visit her soldier boyfriend there. I personally have no driving desire to go there (I'm much more of a Mediterranean baby) but there we have it.

In Spain: I studied in Alicante for five months. My mom wants to see Alicante to see where I lived, etc, and I want to travel further south to check out Granada/Marbella/Malaga/Ronda/Cadiz, if possible.

I know this is a very varied itinerary, and I'm wondering if it's even possible to do it all. We have two weeks, a fairly accomodating budget, and not a lot of room for "roughing it." (My mom doesn't do hostels, get
May 8th, 2006, 07:41 PM
Original Poster

Whoops, hit the "Post" button accidentally!

Anyways, to finish up - mom gets tired walking a lot, she's definitely into the more "tourist" stuff rather than the authentic stuff (which is exactly the opposite of how I am). My sister...a wild card. As you can see, trying to organize this trip is going to be bit of a nightmare (but I wouldn't have it any other way!)

Whaddya think, Fodorites? Any way this trip is possible?

Thanks for the advice
May 8th, 2006, 08:25 PM

To travel between Germany and Spain check out this web site:

http://www.whichbudget.com/
May 9th, 2006, 12:30 AM

VERY posible, especially if you are willing to fly and can meet the checked luggage restrictions, particularly Munich-Spain via Air Berlin:

www.air-berlin.com