Search

Barcelona Hotel Decision

Search this Thread

Old Jan 28th, 2006, 10:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Barcelona Hotel Decision

Hi all,

I am having a tough time deciding between two hotels for a 5 night stay in Barcelona from 3/30/06 through 4/4/06. This is my first time in Barcelona. One thing worth noting is there is a huge football/soccer match on Saturday night.

Hotel #1: Princess Barcelona
This looks like an awesome hotel to stay in but it is about 4 km/2.5 mi from the city center. There is a metro right by it so it would be easy to get in and out of the city.

The reviews on trip advisor are very positive for this hotel despite it's far away location
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Rev...Catalonia.html

Hotel #2: Hotel Colon
This hotel does not look as nice but it is right in the heart of the city by the cathedral. People seem to have trouble here with noise and with the football match I'm wondering if that would be a bigger problem.

The reviews on trip advisor are not as positive for this hotel.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserR...Catalonia.html

Is there a better hotel in the city center than the Hotel Colon that will run for under $140 a night? I feel like these are the two best options for the money where one is right in the center vs. one being outside the city.

What are your thoughts on this?
Old Jan 28th, 2006, 11:00 AM

I would certaianly stay in the center city area. Hotel Colon is very nice but there are so many others as well. Are you limited to choosing between those two for some reason?
Old Jan 28th, 2006, 11:03 AM

if you look at www.gtahotels.com you can find a number of centrally located nice hotels that include tax and breakfast.

the princess sofia is nice, 5 stars, but further away from the sights. however, if you have a really good rate there, that compensates for it.

look at the GUITART, and all four stars on gta.