Search

AUSTRIA

Search this Thread

Old Feb 22nd, 2003, 07:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AUSTRIA

Hello, I need some help please. I am going on a trip to austria, what little towns, villages should I go to? Also any good non tourist restaurants(not pricey but nice) to suggest? Thanks a lot
Old Feb 22nd, 2003, 07:30 AM

Some years ago we had an unexpected spare weekend in Austria and I asked an Austrian friend where to go. He suggested Durnstein a small town on the Danube. We stayed at the castle Schloss Durnstein and enjoyed it immensely. It is not a particularly old castle; the original castle is on the hill above the town.<BR><BR>I have visited the hydroelectric scheme at Kaprun on two occasions and found it fascinating. OK, I am an Engineer, but my wife liked it too. When last there we stayed at Zell am See and had dinner in a restaurant high above the lake. Sadly I can’t tell you its name as we were taken by another friend.<BR><BR>The Eisriesenwelt Hohle or ice cave near Werfen is also well worth a visit on the way to Salzburg.<BR><BR>If you would like more details of our trip please e-mail me.<BR><BR>
Old Feb 22nd, 2003, 07:38 AM

Austria has enchanting little villages with beautiful lakes. All of these are musts: Hallstatt, St. Wolfgang, Zel am See, Gmunden.
Old Feb 22nd, 2003, 07:54 AM