Search

ATMs in paris/france

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26th, 2008, 03:52 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ATMs in paris/france

hello fodorites,

we will be in paris for one week followed by provence for another week.

i've read multiple threads about using our bank cards while there to withdraw cash etc.

can you tell me what the major bank machine names/brands are in paris and/or france?

i'd like to stay away from non-branded ATMs in little convenience stores/bars/cafes ... i'd like to stick with national chains if possible.

i've heard of BNP paribas ... any others?

thanks.
Old Aug 26th, 2008, 04:14 PM

Maybe it's just me but I've never seen an ATM machine in a bar or store in France but I'm no expert. Why do you need to know the names of the banks if you're only using the ATMs at banks and no where else.

Anyway - I googled French banks and you can see the list from this link.

http://www.quazell.com/bank/beur_fra.htm
Old Aug 26th, 2008, 04:28 PM
Original Poster

hi adrienne,

thanks for the link.

in canada, we have no-name ATMs located in convenient venues (i.e. convenience stores, pubs, etc.) these machines are not affiliated with any bank and are sometimes associated with ATM card crime (i.e. duplicate cards being made after you insert your real card). we also have branded ATMs that are standalone -- not necessarily NEXT to a bank branch.

i just want to stick with 'major' bank chains/brands while overseas. i'm only familiar with BNP paribas.

and i guess i'm not sure if all ATMs in paris/france are next-door to an actual bank or if there are standalone ATMs as well.

thanks.
Old Aug 26th, 2008, 04:36 PM

A bank is a bank - none is going to let their ATMs be interfered with.

IMHO you're overthinking this.
Old Aug 26th, 2008, 04:43 PM