Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Arriving St-Remy-de-Provence July 14-food? (& CDG transfer question)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 2nd, 2012, 05:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First, let me offer my thanks for all the information already on these forums. I studied in France a million years ago (I can read French but am no longer very comfortable speaking it), but I haven't been to Europe since the early 1990s, and travel planning has changed SO much. I've read and am trying to apply everyone's great advice about credits cards, train tickets, etc. Thanks!

So ... we're attempting our first family vacation overseas. I am travelling with my husband, mom, and 3 kids to France at the height of tourist season (July 8-20), arriving in Paris July9. On Saturday 14 July we are taking the TGV to Avignon (supposedly arriving at 3:15pm), picking up a rental car, and driving to a rental home in St-Remy-de-Provence. It's Saturday, and it's Bastille Day, and I'm assuming most stores will be closed and most restaurants will already be booked. Likewise for Sunday and possibly Monday, I imagine. We'd like to eat at home a lot -- we've already spent so much money on airfare and lodging, and it can be a drag sitting around a restaurant with the kids. If this were an American destination, I'd plan to grab takeout food Saturday night and do a big shopping run at a supermarket on Sunday morning.

So... what can we eat Saturday night? I cannot imagine that a grocery would be open on July 14 ... true? Does anyone know how to make dinner reservations online in St-Remy? Any recommendations for decent takeout? Do we need to shop in Paris on Friday and bring groceries with us on the train (we will have an apartment @ Bastille Place so we will have a frig there)? I'm picturing bringing along an extra rolling suitcase just for food ... seems bizarre ...