AOL e-mail address good in Italy?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 15th, 2009, 09:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll be travelling in Italy soon and I am not going to have a cell phone. Is my AOL e-mail address good in Italy to receive e-mails from home? I am assuming that I can use internet cafes to access my e-mail. If not, any suggestions would be helpful.
Grazie,Mike
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 09:49 AM

Of course. An email address is good anywhere in the world.
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 12:37 PM
Original Poster

Oh. I did not know that.Thanks. As for the internet cafes,I have never used one before. I know that they don't all charge the same but can you give me idea on what I will be paying?
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 12:42 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Rates vary depending on internet cafe. Many sell a card which you load with money and you use time off of it each time you visit the cafe. Others just have a time rate. Don't buy a reloadable card unless you know you will be close to the cafes in that chain in other cities.
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 12:50 PM
J62

Rates at internet cafes are pretty cheap. I've used them in the past for about 1-2Euro per 1/2 hr or so - don't recall the exact amount but it was pocket change for the time I used it.
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 12:51 PM

Well sometimes an email address is not good everywhere in the world. My regular email address (via a large cable co. here in the US) doesn't work with emails from Australia and sometimes regarding email from Italy. Some Fodorite's in New Zealand also couldn't get emails through to people here in the states that had the same email that I have. I consequently now have a Gmail (via Google) email address also. I have never had AOL so I have no idea if that is ever a problem or not MikeVee but you might want to register with Gmail also just to be on the safe side. And have a wonderful time in beautiful Italy!
Old Apr 15th, 2009, 12:52 PM
J62