Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Any coffehouses that are organic - without rip-offs in Amsterdam?

Oct 6th, 2007, 12:30 PM
Original Poster

Hi: It's my first time to Amsterdam and I've been checking out many sites for info about the coffeehouses. Seems like confusing infor from each,- one site says go here and it's reliable then another site sez don't go there- a rip off. Anyone with first-hand experiece to share about where to go and the in's and out's of what to look for? Thanks
Oct 6th, 2007, 12:51 PM

If you say you are looking for a coffeeshop you will get more response - a coffe house sells coffee, a coffee shop sells what you are looking for.
I have absolutely no further knowledge on the subjuect, except that most seem to sell Nederwiet, which is home grown Dutch stuff, which apparently is strong. There are others on the board who can help you.
Oct 6th, 2007, 05:44 PM
P_M

topping for virgi. Here's the answer to your question so you don't have to post it again.
Oct 6th, 2007, 11:00 PM

You want it to be organic? Now that IS fussy

Probably not going to find any as most (and probbly all serious commercial stuff) is grown hydroponically these days.
Oct 6th, 2007, 11:07 PM

Siberie,nuff said.
Oct 7th, 2007, 03:39 AM

There's no such thing as organic dope. It's all grown hydrponically in greenhouses.

As to which coffeeshop, this is a bit like asking "whats the best pub" as it depends on what you're looking for - some have music, some don't. Some sell food, well they all sell food for obvious reasons, but some sell better food than othyers and so on.

So as to what's "best" have a look in -if the people in the coffeeshop look like the sort of people you'd be happy to spend time with, then you've probably found what you're looking for.

One word of caution: some of the dutch stuff is mind bogglingly strong - so take care.
Oct 7th, 2007, 08:37 AM
Original Poster

Hi All: