Reload this Page >

Airline Ticket Pricing

Search

Airline Ticket Pricing

Search this Thread

Old Dec 7th, 2002, 06:02 AM
keith

Airline Ticket Pricing

Planning a trip to Italy leaving United States mid September 2003 for three weeks. I have been trying to plan air transport,but the web sites (direct airlines and consolidators) seem high-granted I have limited experience. The prices I am seeing is $1400-$1600 each.<BR><BR>When would be the best time to purchase airline tickets-or should I assume these prices to be the optimal.<BR><BR>I am assuming the best approach would be to arrive and depart the same airport (open jaws must have some price penalty). <BR><BR>Thanks,<BR><BR>Keith

Old Dec 7th, 2002, 06:12 AM
Rex

Open jaws usually do NOT have a price &quot;penalty&quot;, and it is amazing to me, how often I have seen an open jaw cost less than a simple roundtrip to either city!<BR><BR>I predict that you will find fares of $900 or less if you search carefully, starting in March - - though it could be as late as July that you find the best deal.<BR><BR>But silly me (and you) for speculating on a fare without knowing where in the Unitedstates this fare is supposed to originate!<BR><BR>Clearly, Boston and Boise have different fares to Italy.<BR><BR>And don't overlook the possibility that you might sace considerably by flying into London (or other cheaper gateways) and taking one of the many cheap fares withIN Europe to Italy.<BR><BR>Best wishes,<BR><BR>Rex<BR>

Old Dec 7th, 2002, 08:00 AM
Judge

K<BR>Not sure what you mean &quot;price penalty&quot;....paying a higher fare for going into one city and leaving out of another?Sometimes it is dramatically less expensive,you just have to try the pricing.And of course weigh it against what you want to do.But with the impending bankruptcy with United on the immediate horizon,the gurus are all advising that in their humble opinions,fares from everywhere to everywhere will be on sale.

Old Dec 7th, 2002, 08:43 AM
Doris