advice for london travel+sight seeing

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2015, 09:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hi guys. I am going with my wife to visit London for 5 days in November(didn't get leave in summers)
Currently fully confused between the fancy terms like London pass, London pass plus travel, oyster travel card etc etc. I am new to Europe and going there first time. have booked hotel in zone 1 about 7miles from London eye. please guide me in easy and palatable way that whats the handy and cheapest way for us to travel London plus sight seeing as well.i am going through heathrow airport. thanks a lot in anticipation
Old Sep 9th, 2015, 10:17 AM

Do you have a guidebook yet? Start there and decide what you most want to do/see/experience in London.

In general, taking the tube is the fastest way to travel inside the city. The Oyster card is a stored value card, which makes getting on the tube fast and easy.
Old Sep 9th, 2015, 11:02 AM

Nowhere in Zone 1 is seven miles from the London Eye.

Someone's lying to you or you've got something confused.
Old Sep 9th, 2015, 11:20 AM

Just rule out anything involving the London Pass - it generally isn't worth the expense. Get an Oyster card for the Tube and buses, or search here for threads about the 2-for-1 deals with National Rail train tickets.

Where exactly is your hotel? flanner is right - 7 miles from the Eye + Zone 1 is incompatible. Depending on where your hotel is and how much luggage you have, the Tube from Heathrow might be a good idea (definitely cheapest), or a car service to your hotel.
Old Sep 9th, 2015, 11:29 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
I agree -- exactly where is your hotel? No part of zone 1 is that far from the Eye,

Also, do not buy the London Pass OR the London Pass plus. REALLY a waste of money.