Search

A Great Travel Career....

Search this Thread

Old Sep 26th, 2005, 05:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A Great Travel Career....

Hi all!

Although similar threads have been done in the past, I have a serious inquiry into a career in travel.

First off, I've been posting here for just a few yrs and not a regular for lack of time. However I was raised in the hotel business and have traveled all over.

In just 2 yrs my husband is going to retire and we no longer will need an additional large salary. I have for the last 15yrs enjoyed a long and rewarding career as a self employed nutritionist, cookbook author and cooking instructor. It is just simply time to move on.

I would like to parlay myself into a travel career and I am clear on what I'd like to do and what I wish not to do. I would like to ask all you dear folks your opinions and input in perhaps steering me in the right direction.

I will start with what I do not want to do at all:

1. I do not want to be a travel agent

2. I do not want to be a tour leader

3. I do not want a job just for the travel. I know alot of folks want a career in travel just to travel, but it is more of the planning, research and detail I enjoy that goes into a trip. So I am not interested in working as a courier or with an airline. It must involve research and planning.

4. I do not wish to work on the retail level, dealing directly with clients. After 15 yrs of all client based work, it is time to move on.

In my own company I have delved into the culinary tour business a small bit and found I liked the planning of the itinerary and all the details rather than being with a group overseas ( I still go with my group of neighbors each yr to Europe, as you have seen from my posts, but this is not for profit and I do enjoy this)