Search

3 college students, 2 weeks in Europe: Rome, Venice, Vienna, Prague

Search this Thread

Old Jun 29th, 2014, 01:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3 college students, 2 weeks in Europe: Rome, Venice, Vienna, Prague

Hi there,
I'm a college student studying abroad in Dublin this coming semester, but before I start school, two friends and I will be traveling around Europe for about two weeks. We've decided to visit Rome, Venice, Vienna, and Prague.

We arrive in Rome on the morning of August 20th and leave Prague on the evening of September 1st (trip total: 12 nights, 13ish days). We're thinking 3 nights in Rome (3.5 days), 2 nights in Venice (2.25 days), taking an overnight train to Vienna, where we'll spend 3 nights (3.5 days) and 3 nights in Prague (3 days). We'll take trains to get from city to city, but we're considering taking the bus from Vienna to Prague. We'll be staying in youth hostels.

None of us have been to Europe before, so we don't really know what to expect. If any experienced Europe travelers have opinions/suggestions about the following (or anything else you'd like to say), feedback would be greatly appreciated!

1. Booking train transportation ahead of time
2. How long to stay in each city
3. Ways to be frugal
4. How much to pack (e.g. how many/what size suitcases? Or just a backpack?)

These are just some things I've been wondering about. Any suggestions, comments, and opinions are welcome!

Thanks,
Katie
Old Jun 29th, 2014, 07:36 PM

Sorry - you actually have 10 full days for activities - the other days are spent getting to and being jetlagged and returning from. (It does take 2 night to make one full day.)

And getting to 4 places will take a significant part of 3 days - so you have 7 days and 4 places - really rushed.