Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

2 restaurants in Amsterdam, have you been there? Help!

Apr 10th, 2004, 06:44 AM
Original Poster

Hi!
I'm looking for a good typical restaurant in Amsterdam. A nice Dutch decor is as important as the good food. It should not be too pricey (I'm a student) but still nice (because it is for a special occasion). I was looking on the net and found these two:

Piet de Leeuw
http://www.diningcity.com/ams/pietdeleeuw/nl/index.html

Het Karbeel
http://www.diningcity.com/ams/hetkarbeel/nl/index.html

Has anyone gone to one of those two? I'd like to get an opinion of someone who's experienced them. If not, did you go to one similar to these two?
Thanks,
Christelle
Apr 10th, 2004, 07:36 AM

Haven't been to either, but a restaurant that wasn't too pricey with excellent seafood was Oosterbar -- but that was a few years ago. It's located by a nice square called the Leidseplein. Good luck.
Apr 10th, 2004, 08:51 AM
ira

Hi C,

Have you looked up the guide to Amsterdam restaurants at www.fodors.com?

You can also look for reviews at www.tripadvisor.com
Apr 10th, 2004, 10:53 AM
Original Poster

Hi! I did have a look at different websites and searched the forum. I came up with the two restos mentionned above, but wanted to hear personal experiences and get direct recommendations.
Apr 10th, 2004, 12:05 PM

Hotel Okura has a marvellous Japanese restaurant which I believe has 1* Michelin. The chicken skewers (chicken yakatori?) were succulent, tender and absolutely spot on.

Dutch cuisine isn't to my taste, have something international.
Apr 10th, 2004, 02:51 PM

Hey C,

Try the 'recession resto's' at SpecialBite - I've never had a bad meal from their recommendations:

http://www.specialbite.com/fav_result.html?type=11&ic=1

HTH and have a great 'event'
, )
Apr 10th, 2004, 07:13 PM

you'd be better off eating the Indonesian food you will find all over.
Apr 11th, 2004, 07:10 AM
Original Poster