Reload this Page >

Tipping for Rental Car Delivery

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 20th, 2002, 04:59 PM
rachael

In one port, I am planning on renting a car for the day. I am new to cruising. If a representative from the rental car company delivers the car to me at the pier, should I tip him? If yes, how much do you think is appropriate? Thanks!

Old Sep 20th, 2002, 10:55 PM
Paul Therault

Hi Rachael,<BR><BR>You bring up a good point. I never thought of that.<BR><BR>I imagine, since he is performing a service that you would tip him a couple of dollars but then the price of the rental I'm sure includes the delivery charge and the employee is being paid by the rental company. <BR><BR>But then, why do we tip cab drivers if they are not handling our luggage? Why do we not tip bus drivers? Why did you start this?<BR><BR>Paul

Old Sep 21st, 2002, 08:44 AM
rachael

Sorry! {:

Old Sep 21st, 2002, 09:06 AM
Paul Therault

Only joking Rachael.

Old Sep 21st, 2002, 04:12 PM
rachael

I know! Still, I'm kind of sorry I began thinking about this ....! :}<BR>

Old Sep 22nd, 2002, 06:08 PM
Charlie

Rachael slip the driver a five spot (you can borrow it from Paul)....it will make you all feel better.

Old Sep 23rd, 2002, 08:01 AM
rachael

LOL - thanks, Charlie!

Old Sep 23rd, 2002, 09:26 AM
Charlie

You're welcome Rachael,whenever there's a doubt,just do it.It won't break the bank and it frees your thoughts for more important day dreams.Have a great first cruise.

Old Sep 23rd, 2002, 09:26 AM
Georgiana

No, tipping a shuttle driver isn't necessary. (Tips are appropriate for extra effoet, such as luggage handling, etc.)

Old Sep 24th, 2002, 12:34 AM
Paul Therault

There you go.

Old Sep 26th, 2002, 01:06 PM
Eric

Rachel<BR>Which port are you planning to drive in?Renting a car in the Caribbean can be frightfully expensive.Sure you cant cab it?? Sounds like you'll be in totally unfamiliar territory.And I'm a skeptic.My vote--dont rent so you dont hav to worry about the tip!!